hosthotel.blogg.se

I3 window manager windows 10
I3 window manager windows 10






i3 window manager windows 10
  1. #I3 window manager windows 10 how to#
  2. #I3 window manager windows 10 full version#

I don't consider this to be much of a problem - in fact, if you tilt your head just right you can see it as an advantage. The disadvantage of starting from Kali Light is that the base distribution doesn't include all of the wonderful Kali tools and utilities. One small example of this is Gnome Files (previously known as nautilus) vs. Kali Light includes Xfce, and not only is it smaller and lighter, but significantly more of the contents will also be useful with i3.

#I3 window manager windows 10 full version#

The primary reason for this recommendation is that the Full version includes Gnome 3, and that drags along a lot of stuff that you don't want, need or will even be able to use with i3. I have made the installation described below on both the Full and Light versions, and based on that experience and what I consider the "philosophy and objective" of using i3 to be, I would recommend starting from Kali Light. However, before starting the installation the first decision that has to be made is what version of Kali to use as the base - Full, Light or Mini? That's good news in this case, because it means that they have the latest i3 packages (4.11) available for installation. Although Kali has their own repositories, those are essentially a clone of Debian.

i3 window manager windows 10

If that kind of thing makes you uncomfortable, bail out now!Īs I mentioned in a previous post, Kali Linux is based on the Debian testing distribution. It even includes manual editing of a configuration text file (gasp!) rather than a point-and-click GUI. Warning! Geek Alert! The following "How-to" post is long on technical details and short on pretty pictures and graphics. I hope that it will be more interesting and more useful to install i3 on Kali Linux. I had originally planned to create an i3 desktop for the Raspberry Pi, but I decided against that (see below for an explanation).

#I3 window manager windows 10 how to#

It's time to pull together the last three series that I have been writing - How to customize your Linux desktop, Experiments with the i3 Window Manager, and Kali Linux.








I3 window manager windows 10